Dear Alumni and Friends of the Neag School of Education:

neagawardspicThe Neag School of Education Alumni Society and the faculty of the Neag School of Education cordially invite you to attend our 16th Annual Awards Dinner on Saturday, March 22, 2014 at the South Campus Ballroom (Rome Ballroom) on the Storrs campus. Click here for directions or here for the UConn campus map.

This evening promises to be memorable as faculty and alumni gather to formally recognize the achievements of some of our outstanding graduates. It is our hope that you will be among those returning to the University for this event. Our award recipients are educators and professionals who have made significant contributions across all professions. We know that you will agree with our outstanding selection of alumni to honor:

The Outstanding Early Career Professional is Jennifer C. Nelson, ’09 BS special education, ’10 MA special education, Special Education Teacher in Ridgefield Public Schools in Ridgefield, CT.

The Outstanding Early Career Professional is Jon Welty Peachey, Ph.D., ’09 Ph.D. in sports management, Assistant Professor in the Department of Recreation, Sport, and Tourism at the University of Illinois.

The Outstanding Kinesiology Professional is NiCole R. Keith, Ph.D., ’99 Ph.D. in exercise physiology, Research Scientist at Indiana University Center for Aging Research; Investigator in Regenstrief Institute Incorporated; and Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology, Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis.

The Outstanding Physical Therapy Professional is Michael L. Reed, PT, DPT, OCS, MTC, ’89 BS in physical therapy, Director of HSS Florida and HSS Spine & Sport, Hospital for Special Surgery, NYC.

The Outstanding School Educator is Sandra M. Bidwell, ’87 MA in education, ’91 Sixth Year Degree in professional education, Reading Recovery Teacher and Reading and Writing Instructional Support Teacher at Staffordville Elementary School in Staffordville, CT.

The Outstanding School Administrator is Louis F. DeLoreto, Ph.D., ’00 Sixth Year Degree in educational leadership, ’12 Ph.D. educational leadership, Principal of Edwin O. Smith High School (Region 19) in Mansfield, CT.

The Outstanding School Superintendent is Paul S. Freeman, Ed.D., ’09 Ed.D. educational leadership, Superintendent of Guilford Public Schools in Guilford, CT.

The Outstanding Higher Education Professional is Sally M. Reis, Ph.D., ’81 Ph.D. educational psychology, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs; Letitia Neag Morgan Chair in Educational Psychology; and Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, University of Connecticut in Storrs, CT.

The Outstanding Professional is Felice M. Duffy, Ph.D., ’82 BA in psychology, ’85 MA in sport psychology, ’91 Ph.D. in sport psychology, Assistant United States Attorney at the United States Attorney’s Office for the District of Connecticut in New Haven, CT.

The Distinguished Alumni of the Year  will be announced the night of the awards dinner.

Come and bring others with you to honor your colleagues and friends who are so influential in the field of education. The evening begins with a reception at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m. The entrees include Mediterranean stuffed chicken with lemon caper sauce or roast sirloin with burgundy wine sauce.  Attire is semi-formal. No-host bar. The cost of the dinner is $55.00 per person. To make reservations, go online at or call (888) 822-5861 by Monday, March 3, 2014. If you have questions, please contact Robyn Wilgis at (860-486-6044) or

We look forward to greeting you on March 22 for our celebration.


One thought on “Dear Alumni and Friends of the Neag School of Education:

  1. Congratulations to Sally Reis who continues to excel! What a wonderful role model she has been. Sincerely Janet Rabin (Ret.)

Comments are closed.