Letter from the Dean: You’re Invited to the Neag Alumni Society Awards Dinner

Neag Alumni Awards Dear Alumni and Friends of the Neag School of Education:

The Neag School of Education Alumni Society and the faculty of the Neag School of Education cordially invite you to attend our 13th Annual Awards Dinner on Saturday, May 14, 2011 at the South Campus Ballroom (Rome Ballroom) on the Storrs campus. Click here for directions or here for the UConn campus map.

This evening promises to be memorable as faculty and alumni gather to formally recognize the achievements of some of our outstanding graduates. It is our hope that you will be among those returning to the University for this event. Our award recipients are educators who have made significant contributions across all levels of education. We know that you will agree with our outstanding selection of alumni to honor:

The Distinguished Alumnus is Ms. Fran Mainella, B.S. ’69, visiting scholar with Clemson University’s Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management. Prior to that, she had a 40-year park and recreation career culminating as director of the U.S. Department of Interior’s National Parks Service.

The Outstanding Higher Education Professional is Dr. Jean A. Wihbey, Ph.D., ’02, provost with the Palm Beach State College, Palm Beach Gardens, FL.

The Outstanding School Administrator is Mr. W. Kurt Telford, B.S., ’79, principal with West Forsyth High School in Clemmons, NC.

The Outstanding School Educator is Ms. Rachel L. Buck, B.S. ’01, M.A. ’02, math teacher with the Connecticut IB Academy, East Hartford, CT.

The Outstanding Kinesiology Professional is Dr. Heather Gibson, M.A., ’89, Ph.D, ’94, associate professor in the Department of Tourism, Recreation and Sport Management at the University of Florida and an associate director of theEric Friedheim Tourism Institute  in Gainesville, FL.

The Outstanding Physical Therapy Professional is Ms. Sidway A. McKay, B.S. ’85, physical therapist with the Concentra Medical Centers in Denver, CO and lecturer/adjunct faculty member with the University of Colorado, School of Medicine’s Physical Therapy Program.

The Outstanding Professional is Dr. Diana L. Payne, Ph.D. ‘07, assistant professor and education coordinator with Connecticut Sea Grant, in Groton, CT.

Come and bring others with you to honor your colleagues and friends who are so influential in the field of education. The evening begins with a reception at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m. The entrees include a chicken or salmon choice. A vegetarian meal is also available. Attire is semi-formal. No-host bar. The cost of the dinner is $45.00 per person for members of the UConn Alumni Association ($55 for non-members). To make reservations, go online at www.UConnAlumni.com/NeagAlumniDinner or call (888) 822-5861 by May 5, 2011. If you have questions, please call Shawn Kornegay at (860-486-3675) or shawn.kornegay@uconn.edu.

We look forward to greeting you on May 14th for our celebration.


Thomas C. DeFranco

Dean, Neag School of Education