Meet the Neag School’s Inaugural Holmes Scholars Cohort

This past academic year, the Neag School of Education was selected to join the National Holmes Scholars Program. The program, led by the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE), is a nationwide network of higher education institutions seeking to support students from historically underrepresented communities enrolled in graduate programs across the field of education. 

Today, less than 10% of all faculty at higher education institutions today identify as African American, Latinx, and/or Native American/Alaskan Native, per the AACTE.

Current and prospective doctoral students at the Neag School are invited to apply each spring. Individuals accepted into the program at the Neag School will be able to take advantage of mentorship and networking opportunities, professional development, as well as access to the AACTE’s annual conference — including a preconference specifically for Holmes Scholars — for a minimum of three years.

Diandra J. Prescod, Neag School associate professor of counselor education, is overseeing the Holmes Scholars Program at the Neag School. She is also a Holmes Scholar alumna herself.

Meet the Scholars

This fall, the Neag School is delighted to introduce its inaugural cohort of National Holmes Scholars:

For more information and to learn how to apply to the Holmes Scholars Program at the Neag School, visit